Vitamin B12: Is it Vegan Friendly?

Vitamin B12: Is it Vegan Friendly?

July 17, 2017

Vitamin B12, also known as cobalamin, is a vitamin that plays an important role in the function of your nervous system, brain, and the creation of red blood cells in the body.

It’s primary function is as a catalyst for enzyme reactions in your nervous system, where amino acids and fatty acids are used as the building blocks in DNA Synthesis [1]. Vitamin B12 is essential for healthy living, but for some folks, it’s tough to source [1].

If you’re familiar with the Vegan diet, or you’re a Vegan yourself, you completely understand why there are concerns regarding the origin of your Vitamin B12 supplements. The human body relies on Vitamin B12 for many things, but often times one can struggle to find a source of Vitamin B12 that is Vegan friendly, as there are only a select few consumable products that contain Vitamin B12. For example, the most widely-available sources for Vitamin B12 are animal products like meat and shellfish. However, there are other ways to get your Vitamin B12, and they’re Vegan friendly, too!

Vitamin B12 can also be formed through the fermentation of bacteria. Neither animals (including humans) nor plants are independently capable of synthesizing vitamin B12, as only bacteria and certain single-celled organisms have that ability. In fact, that’s how your body “creates” Vitamin B12, through the bacteria that exists in your small intestine! There are a few different species of bacteria that are able to synthesize B12 through fermentation, and through the efforts of many doctors and scientists over the years, those bacterium have been harvested and used to ferment commercial Vitamin B12. The beauty of this process is not only in the fact that it is a natural synthesis, it is also Vegan-safe! No animals are used in the process of synthesizing Vitamin B12 with bacteria.

At Corked, we understand the difficulties of finding Vegan-friendly product, so when we decided to introduce Vitamin B12 to our blends, we knew we needed to find a non-animal source for the Vitamin. We now use only a semi-synthetic Vitamin B12 product that is safe for Vegan and vegetarian consumers to use!

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.